Chocolate Strawberry Smoothie Bowl

A big bowl of soupy chocolate, mixed with crunchy bits of hemp and chia. Strewn with clumps of almond butter. Thickened with oats. And topped with dark chocolate.

Smoothie bowls are new to me; at least to my stomach. I’ve scrolled through countless instagram photos of smoothie bowls that make me super jealous, yet I’ve never attempted to make one. Here were my reasons:

  • Smoothies typically don’t fill me up, so I avoid them on school days
  • I don’t like ice cream or cold breakfast foods so I assumed this wouldn’t be my thing
  • I’m not into super berry-flavoured things
  • I had absolutely no idea what I would put into this future smoothie bowl

Today I had to shake off some of these reasons. As I had the day off, I decided that if my smoothie bowl left me starving I could just munch on something else. I also wanted to switch up my typically hot breakfast and try something new. It also happened to be that time of the month; which meant chocolate was in order. I also had lots of ingredients on hand so I had no excuses. So I went for it.

Smoothie Ingredients:

  • 1 cup vanilla unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1-2 medjool dates
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup strawberry greek yogurt (I used this one)
  • If you like your bowl creamy, add a banana

Toppings (customizable):

  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp hemp hearts
  • about 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • almond butter crumble (mix almond butter and almond milk, then microwave until clumpy, sounds strange, tastes beautiful)
  • about 3 rows of dark chocolate (I used this one)

Instructions:

  • Throw all ingredients into a blender and blend just until combined

Seeing as I severely underestimated the power of a smoothie bowl, I feel like I owe it to the realm of smoothie bowl lovers to make another list. Reasons why I loved this smoothie bowl:

  • This bowl kept me full right until lunch (and even gave me enough energy to do some yoga I wasn’t planning on doing)
  • Unlike ice cream, this bowl was more watery than creamy (which I actually like!) But if you prefer a thicker smoothie bowl, add more oats and definitely a banana
  • This bowl was chocolatey-sweet, not fruity-sweet which made it seem like more of a dessert than those berry smoothies I’m not a huge fan of

 

One thought on “Chocolate Strawberry Smoothie Bowl

Leave a Reply

