Speculoos Cookie Butter Cookies

Cookie Butter/Speculoos/Speculaas/Biscoff and I had a long distance relationship…until this weekend.

I never even knew what Cookie Butter was until I went up to Minden this summer, where my family has been cottaging every year since I was little. I’m not big on ice cream, but this was (and is) a tradition every summer; getting a double scoop at the local Kawartha Dairy. I saw the flavour “Speculoos (Cookie Butter)” smiling at me like some extremely attractive guy across the room who probably vapes and thinks hes being cool. Anyways, I knew this was going to be the best and worst decision of the summer. Thus began my tragic relationship.

I did some research, speculoos is “a type of spiced shortcrust biscuit, traditionally baked for consumption on or just before St Nicholas’ feast in the Netherlands, Belgium, and around Christmas in the western and southern parts of Germany.” Thanks, wikipedia! My next few internet searches included, “where the heck can I get speculoos cookies in Canada help me I’m addicted.”

Every grocery store I went to failed to cater to my obsession, until my mom discovered Loblaws had its own version of speculoos, but not in cookie form. Butter form. Cookie butter. A match made in heaven; a creamy spread composed of crushed speculoos cookies. I’ve been smearing this stuff on toast, fruit, s’mores as well as just spooning it from the jar. My other boyfriend, Pinterest, gave me some great baking ideas, like this exact recipe. Con: My jar of Cookie Butter diminished a bit due to using it as an ingredient. Pro: I’ll just have to buy more Cookie Butter.
Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup Cookie Butter
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp flour
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • Pinch of salt

Directions:

  • Add the egg, Cookie Butter, brown sugar and vanilla to a large bowl. Using a spoon, combine them so they are properly creamed

  • Add the flour, cornstarch, cinnamon, baking soda and salt. Mix together until just incorporated. The dough should be soft and a bit oily

  • Make cookie mounds (I made each about 1 tbsp but you could do 2 tbsp as well), then place on a plate and cover with plastic wrap. Chill the dough for at least 3 hours (I chilled mine for 24) before baking. This helps retain their shape and make the flavours stand out

  • Preheat oven to 350, spray a baking sheet with cooking spray and place the mounds on it (about 2 inches apart)
  • Bake for 8 minutes (edges will be slightly hardened and the tops may seem slightly undercooked.) Remove from oven and allow them to firm up for a few minutes as they cool on the sheet. Transfer them to a plate or cooling rack then devour these spicy, sweet, soft-batch cookies!

3 thoughts on “Speculoos Cookie Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

