What I Read in 2023 (40 books)

What I Read in 2023 (40 books)

This year, I was treated to reading 3 texts by people I know in real life (!!). I also got to experience graphic novels, audiobooks and more non-fiction than I’ve read in a while. I read classics like East of Eden and The Call of Cthulhu and disorienting, inventive newcomers like Pure Colour. I found some new faves (Roxane Gay, I’ll read anything you write) and realized how much I’ve been missing out on great historical fiction (like Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell).

And I only abandoned one book this year! Sorry, My Name is Red, I really wanted to like you.

Here’s everything I read in 2023.

My 2023 Best and Worst

Favourite book (fiction): Greenwood by Michael Christie; The Children Act by Ian McEwan

Least favourite book (fiction): As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow by Zoulfa Katouh

Favourite book (non-fiction): Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body by Roxane Gay; Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover

Least favourite book (non-fiction): 101 Essays That Will Change The Way You Think by Brianna Wiest

Favourite poetry collection: Xanax Cowboy: Poems by Hannah Green

If you’re on Goodreads, feel free to follow me! You can check out all of the books I read in 2022, 2021, and 2020.

P.S. In 2021, I read 55 books! Here are my tips for reading more.

*Excerpt from The Artist’s Way: A Spiritual Path for Higher Creativity by Julia Cameron

Leave a comment